The Anti-Thesaurus

I’ve never considered myself eloquent. More aptly, my description could easily read “Ariel: the anti-thesaurus”. Not only is it difficult to brainstorm synonyms, finding a word in the first place is often challenging enough! What’s the word for… darn. You know- the opposite of cold? Yes, hot may be a basic word. Yes, I learned it when I was four. No, I’m not an idiot. But words really aren’t my thing. On the rare occasion I ‘m able to express ideas in a slightly sophisticated way, I am so proud.judge

I’ve started to notice a trend. Last year, during my “The Good Wife” obsession, an increase in court-like vocabulary and persuasion tactics appeared in my arguments. Then, when I was reading a fabulous series about a thirty year old chick bounty hunter in New Jersey, action verbs and witty adjectives interjected themselves throughout my writing.

Recently I’ve been watching “How I Met Your Mother”. Consequently, for the past month, I’ve had writers block. Don’t get me wrong- I love the TV show. It’s hilarious, adorable, and in my opinion, often a realistic portrayal of life. Of course, that may be the problem in itself- people don’t normally use the full range of the English language in day-to-day conversations (or at least they shouldn’t; no normal person wants to listen to something they have to consult a dictionary to understand). So after completing the show’s finale, I’m thinking of returning to books and TV which use a slightly more sophisticated lexicon. If only so I can remember the word for… what is it again?

Leave a Reply

