Alone Again

Alone. It sounds scary. It is scary. Or, it can be. Only three months ago I felt the undesirable characteristics of this concept. I was unsure of my newfound autonomy. Now I am slowly adapting to the sensation that once left me in the hands of desperation. I am realizing how calming it is to separate oneself from social activities. I appreciate the ability to focus inwards, gifting myself time and energy that once was spend catering to others. This may sound selfish, and it is in a way. But I am finding that in order to lead a meaningful and enjoyable life, selfishness is essential, at least to a point; and finding comfort within myself is well within these limits.

Leave a Reply

